Inspire Yourself!

18 Feb

Wedding detail cohesiveness

Let’s face it, some brides go a little overboard when it comes to wedding themes and schemes.  While it’s always nice to start planning with a concrete vision, allow yourself to be inspired along the way…

As an invitation dealer for several companies like Carlson Craft, Encore Studios and Rexcraft, we have a full library of invitation books in our home, to browse through at our convenience.  We found our invitation first- a shimmer pearl, pocket style invitation (#E1160) from the Encore Expressions of Love Wedding Ensemble Collection. Sadly, it’s rare for my hubby and I to have similar taste, so the choice was a no brainer when it appeared on both of our “list of favs!”

When browsing gowns with my bridesmaids, I was thrilled that they all loved this silky satin Melissa Sweet dress (style MS215 in fig) at Bella Bridesmaid.  Pictured on two of my bridesmaids above, the beautiful sweetheart style bust strongly resembles the folded pattern on our invite!

Finally, with the big day right around the corner, I was brainstorming cake ideas in my pocket notebook. We wanted it to be simple and elegant, with some added flair.  With the pearly fold pattern on the brain, I came up with this design (please excuse my terrible sketching skills).

original wedding cake sketchI faxed this sketch to the fabulous baker/designer, Mary Winslow at Take the Cake, who created our beautiful and BEYOND DELICIOUS wedding cake.

We received lots of compliments for the subtle incorporations, from beginning to end.

We allowed ourselves to inspire ourselves (I know that sounds cheesy) and it resulted in an affair with beautiful originality and cohesiveness=)

One Response to “Inspire Yourself!”

  1. iluvgraham 03/10/2010 at 10:48 pm #

    Yay! I want to see more Real Weddings please!!!

Leave a comment